The Book Nook

For some time I have been receiving emails from a Milan bookstore about books they have for sale.

Liberia dell Automobile

Liberia dell Automobile

So today Linda and I ventured out in search of the Libreria dell Automobile. We took an easy mile and a half walk to the location only to find out they are closed from 12:30-3:00. So we look next door to the Nobile Bisto  as a lot of people were going in. We decide to have lunch with the locals.

Nobile Bistro

Nobile Bistro

milan-76

Linda ordered a salad and I got the chicken Milanese. The potato frits were to die for. they were cut in a half circular shape and fried up to perfection. LInda and I sat watching everyone while we dined. After lunch we had an hour to wait, so off down the street to find a gelato store. One was right next door to the book store.

milan-50 milan-51

While waiting for the book store to open we decided to get our daily gelato. There just happened to one right next door to the bistro. Wow! As we walked in beautiful displays of colorful pastries. Bright colors and mouthwatering, which do you pick? My love of marzipan took over. I decided with all the exercise we’d been doing I deserved not only a marzipan but gelato. While eating we noticed the waiter taking a tray with something that looked very sinful. When he returned Christopher asked what was the chocolate drink he took upstairs? He nodded and said ” uno momento” and preceded to bring us back what was an caffe granito. Oh the food in Italy!

Marzapan delicibles

Marzapan delicibles

Corn marzapan

Corn marzapan

Marzapn fruit

Marzapn fruit

Sicilian cake

Sicilian cake

Sicilian cake

Sicilian cake

caffee granito

caffee granito

The book store is open. I go in and introduce myself to Sergio Nada and that ensues an interesting conversation. I ask about a certain subject to only find out that there is almost nothing written. The book store was opened 40 years ago by the present owners father. We talk business about cars, books, and our passions. I see some of the books which I own on the shelf and many more I wish I could. I showed him a book with some of my photography and explain how that came to be 37 years ago. We part company as time was getting late and he had customers to wait on. We had only begun what we could have talked about.

Sergio Nada and Christopher

Sergio Nada and Christopher

milan-68

milan-67

Linda and I window shop on the way back picking up a couple of interesting items to figure out how we are going to get them into our suitcases. The day ends having conversation over wine with our friends Dan and Arlene from Carlsbad. 🙂

Ciao from Milan..Tomorrow Colorno!

 

One thought on “The Book Nook

Leave a Reply

